Getting Started with Roles and Permissions

One of the first things you should do with Blueprint is create user accounts for your staff. You can also create roles and permissions to assign your users. Assigning roles gives you control over which users can access certain features.

Example: You can create a role named Photographer assigned to your users that only gives them access to capture and edit subject data and images.
 

Creating Roles and Permissions

Creating roles and permissions in Blueprint takes a lot of thought - as certain users in your studio might perform more duties than a typical "Photographer" or "Image Editor" might do. Some roles are dependent on other roles being enabled. Keep in mind your studio's unique workflows while designing your roles.

Example: You cannot give Add/Delete access to Smart Sort or Smart Tag without giving the role access to Add /Edit or Add/Edit/Delete Images in the Capture section. If a role is assigned None or View permissions to Images users assigned with this role will not be able to use Smart Sort or Smart Tag.

 

PERMISSION LEVELS

You'll need to decide the level of access within each section after assigning a unique name to the role. The available permission levels are:

  • None: User will have no privileges to this particular role.
  • View: User will only be able to view the particular role.
  • Add: User will be able to add, but not edit or delete.
  • Add/Delete: User will be able to add and delete with this permission.
  • Add/Edit/Delete: User will have full privileges when this permission level is assigned. This is the highest level of permissions.

NOTE: Some sections in Blueprint may have limited Permission Level selection.

Did this answer your question?